Pulitzer Prize Board 2000–2001

Front row: J. Byrd, M. Pride, R. Pederson, E. Seaton, S. Rowe, L. Boccardi, D. Goodwin
Back row: T. Goldstein, S. Topping, A. Barnes, W. Safire, W. Ketter, H. Gates, D. Graham, R. Oppel, J. Carroll, H. Gates, G. Rupp, P. Steiger --(photo credit: Joe Pineiro)

(click here to enlarge image)

The Board presided over the judging process that resulted in the 2001 winners and finalists. --Edward Seaton, chair; Seymour Topping, administrator.

Barnes, Andrew, chairman and chief executive officer, St. Petersburg Times, St. Petersburg, FL

Boccardi, Louis D., president and chief executive officer, Associated Press

Byrd, Joann, editorial page editor, Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Carroll, John S., editor and executive vice president, Los Angeles Times

Gates Jr., Henry Louis, W.E.B. DuBois Professor of Humanities, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA

Goldstein, Tom, dean, Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University

Goodwin, Doris Kearns, historian and biographer, self-employed

Graham, Donald E., chairman, The Washington Post Company

Harris, Jay T., former publisher, San Jose Mercury News

Ketter, William, vice president and assistant to the publisher, The Boston Globe, Boston, MA

Oppel, Richard, editor, Austin American-Statesman, Austin, TX

Pederson, Rena, editorial page editor/vice president, The Dallas Morning News

Pride, Mike, editor, Concord Monitor, Concord, NH

Rowe, Sandra Mims, editor, The Oregonian

Rupp, George, president, Columbia University

Safire, William, columnist, The New York Times, New York, NY

Seaton, Edward, editor in chief, Manhattan Mercury, Manhattan, Kan.

Steiger, Paul, managing editor, The Wall Street Journal, New York, NY

Topping, Seymour, administrator, The Pulitzer Prizes, Columbia University, New York, NY