General News Reporting

Finalists have been announced since 1980. Full texts, photographs and cartoons are available for Journalism winners from 1995–2015 only.


1990 Staff of San Jose (CA) Mercury News

For its detailed coverage of the October 17, 1989, Bay Area earthquake and its aftermath.

1989 Staff of Louisville Courier-Journal

For its exemplary initial coverage of a bus crash that claimed 27 lives and its subsequent thorough and effective examination of the causes and implications of the tragedy.

1988 Staff of Lawrence (MA) Eagle-Tribune

For an investigation that revealed serious flaws in the Massachusetts prison furlough system and led to significant statewide reforms.

1988 Staff of The Alabama Journal, Montgomery, AL

For its compelling investigation of the state's unusually high infant-mortality rate, which prompted legislation to combat the problem.

1987 Staff of Akron Beacon Journal

For its coverage, under deadline pressure, of the attempted takeover of Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co. by a European financier.

1986 Edna Buchanan of The Miami Herald

For her versatile and consistently excellent police beat reporting.

1985 Thomas Turcol of Virginian-Pilot and Ledger-Star, Norfolk, VA

For City Hall coverage which exposed the corruption of a local economic development official.


1990 Staff of The State, Columbia, SC

For its extensive and compelling coverage of the devastation caused by Hurricane Hugo.

1990 Staff of The Roanoke (VA) Times & World-News

For its thorough and balanced coverage of a statewide strike by the United Mine Workers against the Pittston Coal Group.

1989 Nancy Badertscher of Gwinnett Daily News, Lawrenceville, GA

For persistent reporting that revealed expense account abuses by members of the local County Board of Commissioners.

1989 News Staff of Billings (MT) Gazette

For coverage of the fires in Yellowstone National Park.

1989 Justin Gillis and Lisa Getter of The Miami Herald

For their investigation of financial wrongdoing by a popular county manager, reporting which was conducted in the face of strong local opposition and which ultimately led to the official's resignation.

1988 Sam Stanton of The Arizona Republic, Phoenix, AZ

For his reporting on Governor Evan Mecham's turbulent first year in office.

1988 Staff of The Atlanta Journal and Constitution

For sustained coverage of an 11-day riot by Cuban inmates at the Atlanta Federal Penitentiary.

1988 Staff of The Charlotte Observer

For revealing misuse of funds by the PTL television ministry through persistent coverage conducted in the face of a massive campaign by PTL to discredit the newspaper.

1987 John Woestendiek of The Philadelphia Inquirer

For outstanding prison beat reporting, which included proving the innocence of a man convicted of murder.

1987 Staff of Orange County (CA) Register

For its comprehensive coverage of the Cerritos air disaster, a midair collision of a jetliner and a private plane on August 31, 1986.

1986 Staff of The Dallas Morning News

For its comprehensive and compelling coverage, under deadline pressure, of the crash of Delta flight 191 on August 2, 1985.

1986 Staff of The Philadelphia Inquirer

For its coverage, under deadline pressure, of the MOVE siege and its tragic aftermath.

1985 Jonathan Kaufman of The Boston Globe

For his series on neighborhood activism in Boston

1985 Staff of Independent Record, Helena, MT

For its coverage, under deadline pressure, of the worst forest fire in Helena's history.