Local General or Spot News Reporting

Finalists have been announced since 1980. Full texts, photographs and cartoons are available for Journalism winners from 1995–2015 only.


1984 Newsday team of reporters Newsday, Long Island, NY

For their enterprising and comprehensive coverage of the Baby Jane Doe case and its far-reaching social and political implications.

1983 Editorial Staff Fort Wayne (IN) News-Sentinel

For its courageous and resourceful coverage of a devastating flood in March 1982.

1982 Staff Kansas City Star and Kansas City Times

For coverage of the Hyatt Regency Hotel disaster and identification of its causes.

1981 Staff Longview (WA) Daily News

For its coverage of the Mt. St. Helens story, including the photographs by Roger A. Werth.

1980 Staff The Philadelphia Inquirer

For coverage of the nuclear accident at Three Mile Island.

1979 Staff San Diego (CA) Evening Tribune

For its coverage of the collision of a Pacific Southwest air liner with a small plane over its city.

1978 Richard Whitt Louisville Courier-Journal

For his coverage of a fire that took 164 lives at the Beverly Hills Supper Club at Southgate, Ky., and subsequent investigation of the lack of enforcement of state fire codes.

1977 Margo Huston The Milwaukee Journal

For her reports on the elderly and the process of aging.

1976 Gene Miller Miami Herald

For his persistent and courageous reporting over eight and one-half years that led to the exoneration and release of two men who had twice been tried for murder and wrongfully convicted and sentenced to death in Florida.

1975 Staff Xenia (OH) Daily Gazette

For its coverage, under enormous difficulties, of the tornado that wrecked the city on April 3, 1974.

1974 Arthur M. Petacque and Hugh F. Hough Chicago Sun-Times

For uncovering new evidence that led to the reopening of efforts to solve the 1966 murder of Valerie Percy.

1973 Staff Chicago Tribune

For uncovering flagrant violations of voting procedures in the primary election of March 21, 1972.

1972 Richard Cooper and John Machacek Rochester (NY) Times-Union

For their coverage of the Attica, New York prison riot.

1971 Staff Akron (OH) Beacon Journal

For its coverage of the Kent State University tragedy on May 4, 1970.

1970 Thomas Fitzpatrick Chicago Sun-Times

For his article about the violence of youthful radicals in Chicago, "A Wild Night's Ride With SDS."

1969 John Fetterman Louisville Times and Courier-Journal

For his article, "Pfc. Gibson Comes Home," the story of an American soldier whose body was returned to his native town from Vietnam for burial.

1968 Staff Detroit Free Press

For its coverage of the Detroit riots of 1967, recognizing both the brilliance of its detailed spot news staff work and its swift and accurate investigation into the underlying causes of the tragedy.

1967 Robert V. Cox Chambersburg (Pennsylvania) Public Opinion

For his vivid deadline reporting of a mountain manhunt that ended with the killing of a deranged sniper who had terrorized the community.

1966 Staff Los Angeles Times

For its coverage of the Watts riots.

1965 Melvin H. Ruder Hungry Horse News, a weekly in Columbia Falls, MT

For his daring and resourceful coverage of a disastrous flood that threatened his community, an individual effort in the finest tradition of spot news reporting.

1964 Norman C. Miller The Wall Street Journal

For his comprehensive account of a multi-million dollar vegetable oil swindle in New Jersey.


1984 Leslie A. Scism Bucks County (PA) Courier Times

For her investigation of Anna Catherina Emmerick Academy, which linked the religious school's activities to right-wing extremist groups and revealed that it housed weaponry and explosives.

1984 Editorial Staff The Fresno (CA) Bee

For its coverage, under extreme deadline pressure, of the Coalinga earthquake of May 2, 1983.

1983 Dallas Morning News Team The Dallas Morning News

For its coverage and analysis of the financial collapse of Braniff International Airlines.

1983 Staff Rochester (NY) Democrat & Chronicle

For its coverage of an accident at Ginna nuclear power plant that helped to avert public panic.

1982 Lucy Morgan St. Petersburg Times

For her series on drug smuggling in Dixie County, Florida.

1982 Ken Wells The Miami Herald

For his series on Florida's water problems.

1982 Staff Louisville Courier-Journal

For its coverage of an explosion in the Louisville sewer system.

1981 Staff Baltimore News American

For "The Snowball Tragedy," a story of the gap between the young and the elderly.

1981 Newsroom Staff The Miami Herald

For "Three Days of Rage: The Miami Riots."

1980 Staff Chicago Tribune

For coverage of the worst air crash in history and the blizzard of 1979.

1980 Staff Greensboro (NC) Daily News

For coverage of a shootout of the Ku Klux Klan