The 2000 Pulitzer Prize Winners


Current tab: citation


For distinguished criticism, Five thousand dollars ($5,000).

Awarded to Henry Allen of The Washington Post for his fresh and authoritative writing on photography.


Columbia University President George Rupp (left) presents Henry Allen with The 2000 Pulitzer Prize for Criticism.


Also nominated as finalists in this category were: Michael Kimmelman of The New York Times for his gracefully-written observations on art and artists, and Andrew Sarris of The New York Observer, a New York City weekly, for his informed and enlightening film criticism.