

The Pulitzer Prizes

Fiction Winners

The First 50 Years: 1917-1966

Pulitzer Fiction Checklist		
□ 1966	Collected Stories by Katherine Anne Porter	
□ 1965		
1964	No award given	
□ 1963		
□ 1962	The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O'Connor	
□ 1961	To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee	
□ 1960		
□ 1959		
□ 1958	A Death in the Family by James Agee	
1957	No award given	
□ 1956	Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor	
□ 1955	A Fable by William Faulkner	
1954	No award given	
□ 1953	The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway	
1952	The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk	
1951	The Town by Conrad Richter	
□ 1950	The Way West by A. B. Guthrie	
□ 1949	Guard of Honor by James Gould Cozzens	
□ 1948	Tales of the South Pacific by James A. Michener	
1947	All the King's Men by Robert Penn Warren	
1946	No award given	
1945	A Bell for Adano by John Hersey	
1944	Journey in the Dark by Martin Flavin	
1943	Dragon's Teeth by Upton Sinclair	
1942	In This Our Life by Ellen Glasgow	
1941	No award given	
1940	The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck	
1939	The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings	
□ 1938	The Late George Apley by John Phillips Marquand	
□ 1937	Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell	
□ 1936	Honey in the Horn by Harold L. Davis	
□ 1935	Now in November by Josephine Winslow Johnson	
□ 1934	Lamb in His Bosom by Caroline Miller	
□ 1933	The Store by T. S. Stribling	
□ 1932	The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck	
□ 1931	Years of Grace by Margaret Ayer Barnes	
□ 1930	Laughing Boy by Oliver Lafarge	
□ 1929	Scarlet Sister Mary by Julia Peterkin	
□ 1928	The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder	
□ 1927	Early Autumn by Louis Bromfield	
□ 1926	Arrowsmith by Sinclair Lewis	
□ 1925	So Big by Edna Ferber	
□ 1924	The Able McLaughlins by Margaret Wilson	
□ 1923	One of Ours by Willa Cather	
□ 1922	Alice Adams by Booth Tarkington	
1921	The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton	
1920	No award given	
☐ 1919 ☐ 1019	The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington	
1918	His Family by Ernest Poole	

It's our 100th year of honoring excellence in journalism and the arts.
pulitzer.org



The Pulitzer Prizes

Fiction Winners

The Second 50 Years: 1967-2016

Pulitzer Fiction Checklist		
□ 2016	The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen	
□ 2015	All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr	
□ 2014	The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt	
□ 2013	The Orphan Master's Son by Adam Johnson	
2012	No award given	
□ 2011		
<u></u>	Tinkers by Paul Harding	
□ 2009		
□ 2008	The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz	
□ 2007	The Road by Cormac McCarthy	
□ 2006	March by Geraldine Brooks	
□ 2005	Gilead by Marilynne Robinson	
□ 2004	The Known World by Edward P. Jones	
2003	Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides	
☐ 2002	Empire Falls by Richard Russo	
2001	The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon	
□ 2000		
□ 1999		
□ 1998	American Pastoral by Philip Roth	
□ 1997	Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer by Steven Millhauser	
□ 1996	Independence Day by Richard Ford	
☐ 1995	The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields	
□ 1994	The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx	
□ 1993	A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain by Robert Olen Butler	
□ 1992	A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley	
☐ 1991 ☐ 1990	Rabbit At Rest by John Updike	
☐ 1990 ☐ 1990	The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love by Oscar Hijuelos	
☐ 1989 ☐ 1988	Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler Relaxed by Tani Magrican	
☐ 1987	Beloved by Toni Morrison A Summons to Memphis by Peter Taylor	
☐ 1986	Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry	
□ 1985	Foreign Affairs by Alison Lurie	
☐ 1984	Ironweed by William Kennedy	
□ 1983	The Color Purple by Alice Walker	
□ 1982	Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike	
☐ 1981	A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole	
□ 1980	The Executioner's Song by Norman Mailer	
□ 1979	The Stories of John Cheever, by John Cheever	
□ 1978	Elbow Room by James Alan McPherson	
1977	No award given	
□ 1976	Humboldt's Gift by Saul Bellow	
□ 1975	The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara	
1974	No award given	
□ 1973	The Optimist's Daughter by Eudora Welty	
□ 1972	Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner	
1971	No award given	
□ 1970	Collected Stories by Jean Stafford	
□ 1969	House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday	
□ 1968	The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron	
1967	The Fixer by Bernard Malamud	

It's our 100th year of honoring excellence in journalism and the arts.

pulitzer.org