What's New

Pulitzer Prize seminar 2014: Covering the Overlooked

On Tuesday, November 11, prizewinning journalists discussed how their reporting and commentary exposed the plights of the overlooked and neglected.

Participants included Chris Hamby, formerly of The Center for Public Integrity, Joanna Bean, of The Gazette, Colorado Springs and David Philipps formerly of The Gazette, and Stephen Henderson, of the Detroit Free Press.

Sheila Coronel, director, Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism, and dean of academic affairs at The Journalism School, Columbia University, moderated the program. -- 11/12/2014

Watch video of the event

Watch slideshow of the event

Mike Pride elected Pulitzer Prize administrator

Mike Pride, the former editor of the Concord Monitor who led his small New Hampshire newspaper to national prominence and served as co-chair of the Pulitzer Prize Board, has been named administrator of the Pulitzer Prizes.

The appointment, effective Sept. 1, was announced by the Pulitzer Board and by Lee C. Bollinger, president of Columbia University, where the prestigious prizes in journalism, letters, drama and music are administered.

Pride succeeds Sig Gissler, 78, former editor of The Milwaukee Journal and Columbia Journalism School faculty member, who will retire Aug. 1 after 12 years as administrator.

Pride, 67, became editor of the Monitor in 1983 after serving as managing editor. Under his leadership the Monitor won the New England Newspaper of the Year Award 19 times, as well as numerous national awards for excellence. The paper was cited by Time magazine and the Columbia Journalism Review as one of the best papers in the country. In 2008, the Monitor won the Pulitzer Prize for Feature Photography.


Board chair links 2014 prizes to health of democracy

The Pulitzer Prizes play an important role in helping America honor its commitment to democracy, the newly elected chair of the Pulitzer Prize Board told the luncheon ceremony at Columbia University where the 2014 prizes in journalism, books, music and drama were presented.

Drawing on the Declaration of Independence for inspiration, Danielle Allen, a political philosopher at the Institute for Advanced Study, said that in a complicated world "deep reporting in the pursuit of truth, effective writing in pursuit of insight and edification, and unflagging advocacy of a culture of reading" gave hope for the nation’s future.

She described the Pulitzer Board’s deliberations as "the most intense, forthright, rigorous and collegial of any I’ve ever been privileged to be part of." -- 05/28/2014

2014 luncheon slide show

Video and text of Allen's remarks

Group photo of 2014 winners

Press release: Allen's election as chair

Pulitzer winners celebrate!

On April 14, 2014 Pulitzer Prizewinners in journalism and the arts from across the country uncorked the champagne and cheered in celebration.

At left, David Philipps, of The Gazette, Colorado Springs, winner of the National Reporting prize, waves his bottle next to photographer Michael Ciaglo. Awarded for "Other than Honorable," a story that expanded the examination of how wounded combat veterans are mistreated, this is the newspaper's second Pulitzer win in its 124-year history.

The 2014 Pulitzer Prizes will be awarded at a luncheon ceremony at Columbia University in New York City on May 28, 2014. -- 04/21/2014

List of 2014 winners

Video of announcement

News stories about winners

Work by 2014 Journalism Finalists is available

Our expanded archive now includes articles and other entry material submitted by finalists for the 2014 Journalism Prizes.

Three finalists in each category are selected by separate Nominating Juries. The Pulitzer Prize Board chooses the winner from among the three finalists. The other two entries, not selected as Prize winners, are designated as Nominated Finalists.

The 2014 Pulitzer Prizewinners and Nominated Finalists were announced on April 14, 2014. -- 04/24/2014

Pulitzer Administrator Sig Gissler to retire

Sig Gissler, who helped move the Pulitzer Prizes more deeply into the digital age, will retire as administrator this summer, Columbia University announced today.

Gissler, 78, became the Pulitzer administrator in 2002. During his tenure, the Pulitzer Board opened its journalism competition to entries from online-only news organizations and encouraged a full range of digital components, such as video and other multimedia formats. Three years ago, the journalism Prizes adopted an all-digital entry and judging system, replacing paper entries.

"For a dozen years, Sig has been a devoted and wise steward of the Pulitzer Prizes and the machinery that produces them," said Paul Tash, chairman of the Pulitzer Board. "It is a little hard to imagine the Prizes without him." -- 01/15/2014


Investigative journalist and columnist join Pulitzer Board

Katherine Boo, a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative journalist, and Gail Collins, an Op-Ed columnist for The New York Times, have been elected to the Pulitzer Prize Board.

Boo, a staff writer for The New Yorker magazine, was a reporter at The Washington Post when her series on mistreatment of mentally challenged people in Washington, D.C., resulted in the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for Public Service for The Post.

Collins joined the editorial board of The New York Times in 1995 and six years later became the first woman editor of The Times’ editorial page. -- 11/07/2013