Local Reporting; No Edition Time

Finalists have been announced since 1980. Full texts, photographs and cartoons are available for Journalism winners from 1995–2015 only.


1963 Oscar Griffin, Jr. Pecos (TX) Independent and Enterprise

Who as editor initiated the exposure of the Billie Sol Estes scandal and thereby brought a major fraud on the United States government to national attention with resultant investigation, prosecution and conviction of Estes.

1962 George Bliss Chicago Tribune

For his initiative in uncovering scandals in the Metropolitan Sanitary District of Greater Chicago, with resultant remedial action.

1961 Edgar May Buffalo (NY) Evening News

For his series of articles on New York State's public welfare services entitled, "Our Costly Dilemma," based in part on his three-month employment as a State case worker. The series brought about reforms that attracted nation-wide attention.

1960 Miriam Ottenberg The Evening Star, Washington, DC

For a series of seven articles exposing a used-car racket in Washington, D.C., that victimized many unwary buyers. The series led to new regulations to protect the public and served to alert other communities to such sharp practices.

1959 John Harold Brislin Scranton (PA) Tribune and Scrantonian

For displaying courage, initiative and resourcefulness in his effective four-year campaign to halt labor violence in his home city, as a result of which ten corrupt union officials were sent to jail and a local union was embolden to clean out racketeering elements.

1958 George Beveridge The Evening Star, Washington, DC

For his excellent and thought-provoking series, "Metro, City of Tomorrow," describing in depth the urban problems of Washington, D.C., which stimulated widespread public consideration of these problems and encouraged further studies by both public and private agencies.

1957 Wallace Turner and William Lamber Portland Oregonian

For their expose of vice and corruption in Portland involving some municipal officials and officers of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers of America, Western Conference. They fulfilled their assignments despite great handicaps and the risk of reprisal from lawless elements.

1956 Arthur Daley The New York Times

For his outstanding coverage and commentary on the world of sports in his daily column, "Sports of the Times."

1955 Roland Kenneth Towery Cuero (TX) Record

For his series of articles exclusively exposing a scandal in the administration of the Veterans' Land Program in Texas. This 32-year-old World War II veteran, a former prisoner of the Japanese, made these irregularities a state-wide and subsequently a national issue, and stimulated state action to rectify conditions in the land program.

1954 Alvin Scott McCoy Kansas City (MO) Star

For a series of exclusive stories which led to the resignation under fire of C. Wesley Roberts as Republican National Chairman.

1953 Edward J. Mowery New York World-Telegram & Sun

For his reporting of the facts which brought vindication and freedom to Louis Hoffner.