The 2009 Pulitzer Prize Winners


Current tab: citation


For distinguished criticism, in print or online or both, Ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to Holland Cotter of The New York Times for his wide ranging reviews of art, from Manhattan to China, marked by acute observation, luminous writing and dramatic storytelling.


Holland Cotter

Lee C. Bollinger, President of Columbia University (left), presents the 2009 Criticism prize to Holland Cotter of The New York Times.


Also nominated as finalists in this category were: Inga Saffron of The Philadelphia Inquirer for her fascinating and convincing architectural critiques that boldly confront important topics, from urban planning issues to the newest skyscraper; and Sebastian Smee of The Boston Globe for his fresh, accessible and energetic reviews on the New England art scene, creating for readers a sense of discovery even as he provides discerning analysis.