The 2010 Pulitzer Prize Winners


Current tab: citation


For distinguished commentary, in print or online or both, Ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to Kathleen Parker of The Washington Post for her perceptive, often witty columns on an array of political and moral issues, gracefully sharing the experiences and values that lead her to unpredictable conclusions.


Kathleen Parker

Lee C. Bollinger, President of Columbia University, presents the 2010 Commentary prize to Kathleen Parker of The Washington Post.


Also nominated as finalists in this category were: David Leonhardt of The New York Times for his illumination of the nation’s most pressing and complex economic concerns, from health care reform to the worst recession in decades; and Phillip Morris of The Plain Dealer, Cleveland, for his columns that close the distance between the reader and the rough streets of the city, confronting hard realities without leaving people to feel hopeless.