The 2010 Pulitzer Prize Winners


Current tab: citation


For distinguished criticism, in print or online or both, Ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to Sarah Kaufman of The Washington Post for her refreshingly imaginative approach to dance criticism, illuminating a range of issues and topics with provocative comments and original insights.


Sarah Kaufman

Lee C. Bollinger, President of Columbia University, presents the 2010 Criticism prize to Sarah Kaufman of The Washington Post.


Also nominated as finalists in this category were: Michael Feingold of The Village Voice, a New York City weekly, for his engaging, authoritative drama reviews that fuse passion and knowledge as he helps readers understand what makes a play or a performance successful; and A.O. Scott of The New York Times for his incisive film reviews that, with aplomb, embrace a wide spectrum of movies and often explore their connection to larger issues in society or the arts.