The 2011 Pulitzer Prize Winners


Current tab: citation


For distinguished commentary, using any available journalistic tool including text reporting, videos, databases, multimedia or interactive presentations or any combination of those formats, in print or online or both, Ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to David Leonhardt of The New York Times for his graceful penetration of America’s complicated economic questions, from the federal budget deficit to health care reform.


Lee C. Bollinger, President of Columbia University (left), presents the 2011 Commentary prize to David Leonhardt of The New York Times.


Also nominated as finalists in this category were: Phillip Morris of The Plain Dealer, Cleveland, for his blend of local storytelling and unpredictable opinions, enlarging the discussion of controversial issues that stir a big city; and Mary Schmich of the Chicago Tribune for her versatile columns exploring life and the concerns of a metropolis with whimsy and poignancy.