The 2012 Pulitzer Prize Winners


Current tab: citation


For distinguished commentary, using any available journalistic tool, Ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Awarded to Mary Schmich of the Chicago Tribune for her wide range of down-to-earth columns that reflect the character and capture the culture of her famed city.


Gregory Moore, co-chair of The Pulitzer Prize Board, presents the 2012 Commentary Prize to Mary Schmich of the Chicago Tribune.


Also nominated as finalists in this category were: Nicholas Kristof of The New York Times for his valorous columns that transport readers into dangerous international scenes, from Egypt to Kenya to Cambodia, often focusing on the disenfranchised and always providing insight; and Steve Lopez of the Los Angeles Times for his engaging commentary on death and dying, marked by pieces on his own father’s rapid physical and mental decline, that stir readers to address end-of-life questions.