1998 Finalists

Letters, Drama, and Music

Underworld by Don DeLillo (Scribner)

Bear and His Daughter: Stories by Robert Stone (Houghton Mifflin)
Freedomland by Amy Freed

Three Days of Rain by Richard Greenberg
Big Trouble: A Murder in a Small Western Town Sets Off a Struggle for the Soul of America by J. Anthony Lukas (Simon & Schuster)

Civic Ideals: Conflicting Visions of Citizenship in U.S. History by Rogers M. Smith (Yale University Press)
Biography or Autobiography
Alfred C. Kinsey: A Public-Private Life by James H. Jones (W.W. Norton)

Whittaker Chambers: A Biography by Sam Tanenhaus (Random House)
Desire by Frank Bidart (Farrar)

The Vigil by C.K. Williams (Farrar)
General Nonfiction
Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster by Jon Krakauer (Villard)

How the Mind Works by Steven Pinker (W.W. Norton)
Century Rolls by John Adams
Premiered on September 25, 1997, at Severance Hall, Cleveland, Ohio, by The Cleveland Orchestra.

Horntrio by Yehudi Wyner
Premiered on December 7, 1997, at several locations.


Public Service
The Seattle Times
For the work of Duff Wilson that disclosed how toxic waste from heavy industries was being recycled as fertilizer.

Los Angeles Times
For the work of Sonia Nazario, reporter and Clarence Williams, photographer, that chronicled the tragic plight of young children with parents addicted to alcohol and drugs.
Breaking News Reporting
John Dennis Harrigan of News and Sentinel, a Colebrook, NH weekly
For his coverage of a shooting spree that left five dead, including his newspaper's managing editor.

Mike McAlary of Daily News, New York, NY
For reporting on the brutalization of a Haitian immigrant by police officers at a Brooklyn stationhouse. (Moved by the Board to the Commentary category.)
Investigative Reporting
Lisa Getter, Jeff Leen and Gail Epstein of The Miami Herald
For their reporting that disclosed how hundreds of local police officers routinely served as unnecessary witnesses in misdemeanor arrests to gain overtime pay.

Staff of St. Petersburg Times
For its investigation of the corrupt financial practices charged to the Rev. Henry Lyons, president of the National Baptist Convention.
Explanatory Reporting
David Barstow of St. Petersburg Times
For his narrative portrait of the legal struggle against the tobacco industry, centered on the personalities who were key in reaching a tentative settlement of billions of dollars.

Linda Greenhouse of The New York Times
For her consistently illuminating coverage of the United States Supreme Court. (Moved by the Board to the Beat Reporting category.)
Beat Reporting
Keith Bradsher of The New York Times
For his reporting that disclosed safety and environmental problems posed by sport utility vehicles and other light trucks.

Jason DeParle of The New York Times
For his coverage of the successes and frustrations of the national effort to reform welfare.

Laurie Garrett of Newsday, Long Island, NY
For her reporting on the public health care crisis in the countries of the former Soviet Union.
National Reporting
Douglas Frantz of The New York Times
For his dogged reporting on the Church of Scientology, particularly its questionable relationship with the Internal Revenue Service, which granted the organization tax-exempt status.

David Wood of Newhouse News Service, Washington, DC
For his fresh and revealing coverage of the U.S. military and the challenges facing it in the post-Cold War world.
International Reporting
Nicholas D. Kristof of The New York Times
For his compelling comprehensive and compassionate reporting from Africa and Asia.

John Pomfret of The Washington Post
For his series, written under difficult conditions, on Laurent Kabila's brutal rise to power in Zaire.
Feature Writing
J.R. Moehringer of Los Angeles Times
For "The Champ," an extraordinary documentation of a heavyweight boxer's glory days and his fall.

Steve Giegerich of Asbury Park Press
For his startling and original story about a bond that formed between four medical students and the cadaver they studied.
Bob Greene of Chicago Tribune
For his columns devoted to local children whose lives were mishandled by the welfare and judicial systems.

Robert J. Samuelson of The Washington Post, Writers Group
For his knowledgeable and analytical columns on a wide variety of national subjects.

Patricia Smith of The Boston Globe
For her lyrical and evocative columns on an assortment of urban topics.
Dorothy Rabinowitz of The Wall Street Journal
For her tough-minded, critical columns on television and its place in politics and culture.

Peter Rainer of New Times Los Angeles, a weekly
For his versatile and perceptive writing about film.
Editorial Writing
George B. Pyle of Salina (KS) Journal
For his insightful editorials on a variety of local issues.

Clint Talbott of Colorado Daily, Boulder, CO
For his powerful series of editorials on the legal ordeal of a rape victim who took her case to trial. (Moved by the jury from the Commentary category.)
Editorial Cartooning
Paul Conrad of Los Angeles Times

Jeff MacNelly of Chicago Tribune

Joel Pett of Lexington (KY) Herald-Leader
Spot News Photography
Jean-Marc Bouju of Associated Press
For his chilling sequence of seven photographs in Zaire depicting rebel soldiers beating and then executing a man believed to be a member of Mobuto Sese Sekos' presidential guard.

Photo Staff of Grand Forks (ND) Herald
For its committed coverage of the severe flooding that devastated their community.
Feature Photography
Allan Detrich of Block News Alliance
For his revealing photographic account of a secret interstate network of individuals who aid parents and children fleeing the threat of sexual abuse. (Moved by the jury from the Spot News Photography category.)

Joseph V. Stefanchik of The Dallas Morning News
For his gripping photographs depicting the effects of war and land mines in Angola.