2006 Finalists

Letters, Drama, and Music

The March by E.L. Doctorow (Random House)

The Bright Forever by Lee Martin (Shaye Areheart Books/Crown Publishing)
Miss Witherspoon by Christopher Durang

The Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow by Rolin Jones

Red Light Winter by Adam Rapp
New York Burning by Jill Lepore (Alfred A. Knopf)

The Rise of American Democracy: Jefferson to Lincoln by Sean Wilentz (W.W. Norton)
Biography or Autobiography
The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion (Alfred A. Knopf)

The Peabody Sisters: Three Women Who Ignited American Romanticism by Megan Marshall (Houghton Mifflin)
American Sublime by Elizabeth Alexander (Graywolf Press)

Elegy on Toy Piano by Dean Young (University of Pittsburgh Press)
General Nonfiction
Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945 by Tony Judt (The Penguin Press)

The Assassins' Gate: America in Iraq by George Packer (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
Neruda Songs by Peter Lieberson (Associated Music Publishers)
Premiered May 20, 2005 by the Los Angeles Philharmonic.

Si Ji (Four Seasons) by Chen Yi (Theodore Presser Company)
Premiered October 13, 2005 by the Cleveland Orchestra.


Public Service
The Washington Post
For its exhaustive and illuminating exploration of the government's war on terrorism and the ensuing tension between national security and individual liberty.

The Blade, Toledo, OH
For its relentless probe of the state's investment in a rare-coin fund that exposed illegal actions by the governor and other state officials, spurring successful criminal prosecution and other corrective action.
Breaking News Reporting
Staff of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
For its swift and rigorous accounts of a shooting rampage by a prisoner who seized a deputy sheriff's gun and killed a judge and three others.

Staff of South Florida Sun-Sentinel
For its clear, cohesive and enterprising coverage of Hurricane Wilma after it battered a region still recovering from major storms the previous year.
Investigative Reporting
Jason Felch and Ralph Frammolino of Los Angeles Times
For their exposure of problems in the management of the J. Paul Getty Trust, the world's richest art institution, and in acquisition practices at other museums.

Sally Kestin, Megan O'Matz and John Maines of South Florida Sun-Sentinel
For their in-depth reports on the federal government's widespread mismanagement of hurricane aid, triggering indictments and other remedial action.
Explanatory Reporting
Debbie Cenziper of The Miami Herald
For her deeply researched examination of breakdowns in hurricane forecasting that often endanger lives.

Mark Johnson and Kawanza Newson of The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
For their riveting chronicle of a teenage girl's miraculous recovery from a rabies infection that medicine had previously considered fatal.
Beat Reporting
Barry Meier of The New York Times
For his original, strongly documented stories on a flawed heart-defibrillator that imperiled the safety of unwitting patients.

Jerry Mitchell of The Clarion-Ledger, Jackson, MS
For his relentless and masterly stories on the successful prosecution of a man accused of orchestrating the killing of three civil rights workers in 1964.
National Reporting
Michael Moss of The New York Times
For his tenacious, thoroughly researched stories on the bureaucratic inertia that led to the fatal injury of American soldiers in Iraq who lacked protective armor.
International Reporting
Steve Fainaru of The Washington Post
For his powerful accounts of the deadly violence faced by ordinary American soldiers in Iraq as an insurgency intensified.

Sebastian Rotella of Los Angeles Times
For his well crafted reports on restive Muslims in Europe that foretold riots in France.
Feature Writing
Dan Barry of The New York Times
For his rich portfolio of pieces capturing slices of life in hurricane-battered New Orleans as well as his own New York City.

Mary Schmich of Chicago Tribune
For her intimate and compelling story about a federal judge whose husband and mother were murdered by an angry former plaintiff.
Chris Rose of The Times-Picayune, New Orleans, LA
For his vibrant and compassionate columns that gave voice to the afflictions of his city after it was struck by Hurricane Katrina.

Cynthia Tucker of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
For her pungent, clear-eyed columns that tackled controversial issues with frankness and fortitude.
Nicolai Ouroussoff of The New York Times
For his graceful, contemplative and wide ranging critiques of architecture and urban design from New Orleans to Berlin.

Jerry Saltz of The Village Voice, a New York City weekly
For his fresh, down-to-earth pieces on the visual arts and other cultural topics.
Editorial Writing
Editorial Board of The Birmingham (AL) News
For its series of incisive editorials reversing the paper's long-held support of the death penalty.

B. Marie Harris, Tony Biffle and Stan Tiner of Sun Herald, Biloxi-Gulfport, MS
For their passionate editorials in the wake of Hurricane Katrina that empathized with victims while pleading for relief from the outside world.
Editorial Cartooning
Marshall Ramsey of The Clarion-Ledger, Jackson, MS
For his vivid, wide ranging cartoons that express crisp opinions with uncomplicated artistry.

Mike Thompson of Detroit Free Press
For diverse cartoons that use wit, irony and artistic flair to sharpen their impact.
Breaking News Photography
Carolyn Cole and Brian Vander Brug of Los Angeles Times
For their spellbinding coverage of Israel's emotion-packed withdrawal from Gaza.

Eric Gay of Associated Press
For his multifaceted coverage of the human suffering in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina flooded the city.
Feature Photography
Mike Stocker of South Florida Sun-Sentinel
For his imaginative exploration of Holocaust survivors as Judaism faces a new century.

Damon Winter of Los Angeles Times
For his sensitive portrayal of two remote Eskimo villages coping with memories of sexual abuse by a missionary 30 years ago.