2014 Pulitzer winners celebrate!

On April 14, 2014 Pulitzer Prizewinners in journalism and the arts from across the country uncorked the champagne and cheered in celebration.

At left, David Philipps, of The Gazette, Colorado Springs, winner of the National Reporting prize, waves his bottle next to photographer Michael Ciaglo. Awarded for "Other than Honorable," a story that expanded the examination of how wounded combat veterans are mistreated, this is the newspaper's second Pulitzer win in its 124-year history.

The 2014 Pulitzer Prizes will be awarded at a luncheon ceremony at Columbia University in New York City on May 28, 2014.

List of 2014 winners

Video of announcement

News stories about winners

Pulitzer Administrator Sig Gissler to retire

Sig Gissler, who helped move the Pulitzer Prizes more deeply into the digital age, will retire as administrator this summer, Columbia University announced today.

Gissler, 78, became the Pulitzer administrator in 2002. During his tenure, the Pulitzer Board opened its journalism competition to entries from online-only news organizations and encouraged a full range of digital components, such as video and other multimedia formats. Three years ago, the journalism Prizes adopted an all-digital entry and judging system, replacing paper entries.

"For a dozen years, Sig has been a devoted and wise steward of the Pulitzer Prizes and the machinery that produces them," said Paul Tash, chairman of the Pulitzer Board. "It is a little hard to imagine the Prizes without him."


Investigative journalist and columnist join Pulitzer Board

Katherine Boo, a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative journalist, and Gail Collins, an Op-Ed columnist for The New York Times, have been elected to the Pulitzer Prize Board.

Boo, a staff writer for The New Yorker magazine, was a reporter at The Washington Post when her series on mistreatment of mentally challenged people in Washington, D.C., resulted in the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for Public Service for The Post.

Collins joined the editorial board of The New York Times in 1995 and six years later became the first woman editor of The Times’ editorial page. -- 11/07/2013


VIDEO of Pulitzer seminar: "Waiting to be told"

Here is the video of six journalists who deconstructed their 2013 Pulitzer Prize-winning work and shared their tips during an Oct. 22 seminar at the Columbia Journalism School. They told how their remarkable stories were waiting to be discovered. The topics and participants were:

Speeding off-duty cops imperil the public Sun Sentinel, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla, Public Service Prize, Sally Kestin and John Maines

The biggest oil spill you never heard of InsideClimate News, National Reporting Prize, Elizabeth McGowan and Lisa Song

Inside a deadly backcountry avalanche The New York Times, Feature Writing Prize, John Branch and Steve Duenes

Sheila Coronel, director, Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism, moderated the program. -- 11/04/2013

watch slide show of the event | watch video of the event


Pulitzer Board chair praises tenacious 2013 journalism winners

Despite economic pressures and other stern challenges, the journalistic work of Pulitzer Prize winners is as strong as ever, the newly elected chair of the Pulitzer Prize Board said at the luncheon ceremony at Columbia University where the 2013 prizes in journalism, books, music and drama were presented.

Paul Tash, the chief executive of the Tampa Bay Times, Florida’s largest newspaper, urged newspapers and other news organizations to persist in facing current problems, saying:

"The work may be difficult. The odds may be long. The challenges may be great. So what? Every day presents an opportunity for excellence, and the chance to do work that makes a great difference." 05/30/2013

Text: Tash’s remarks Video: Tash’s remarks and presentation of Prizes Luncheon slide show Press release: Tash’s election as chair

John Daniszewski, AP news executive, joins Pulitzer Board

John Daniszewski, a top news executive at the Associated Press with deep experience in the coverage of major world news events, has been elected to the Pulitzer Prize Board.

Daniszewski became AP’s vice president and senior managing editor for international news in 2009 after three decades as a reporter, editor and correspondent who has been on assignment in more than 70 countries in Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Latin America and Asia.-- 05/01/2013


2013 Journalism Jurors searched for nation’s best journalism

Watch a slide show of the hardworking Nominating Jurors in Journalism. Jurors met on February 22, 23 and 24, 2013 to read 1,081 journalism entries online. They worked in both the Pulitzer World Room (pictured right) and the Lecture Hall also located in Pulitzer Hall at Columbia University.

The jurors nominated three finalists in each category. Then The Pulitzer Prize Board made the final decisions. The 2013 Pulitzer Prize Winners and Nominated Finalists were announced on April 15, 2013.